

LIVESTOCK EXHIBITION RULES *COMING 2025

The Missouri Department of Agriculture is implementing new animal health requirements for cattle and swine exhibitors at fairs and exhibitions in Missouri for 2025. MDA is taking a proactive step toward disease prevention and traceability.

Whats New?

Cattle and swine exhibitors must provide a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI), completed by an accredited veterinarian within 30 days of the show.

- A printed or an electronic version of the CVI is acceptable.
- Ensure all the shows where you intend to exhibit within Missouri over the 30-day period are listed on one CVI.
- Cattle and swine projects must be identified with an official form of identification.

Official Identification

USDA-APHIS recently amended its animal disease traceability regulations. The new rule requires official eartags to be visually and electronically readable for use in interstate movement. The final rule applies to all sexually intact cattle and bison 18 months of age or older, all dairy cattle, cattle and bison of any age used for rodeo or recreation events, and cattle or bison of any age used for shows or exhibitions. The rule went in to effect Nov. 5, 2024. NUES 9 tags are no longer acceptable forms of official identification for those animals affected by the rule. If your impacted animal was tagged with a NUES 9 tag before Nov. 5, there will be no penalty and the animal will not need a new tag.

- An official National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES) tag (SWINE ONLY)
 - Begins with the official state number 43 for Missouri.
 - Allocated by USDA to accredited veterinarians.
- An official Animal Identification Number (AIN) tag
 - Consists of 15 digits, beginning with 840 for the United States.
 - Visual or Radio Frequency Identification (RFID).
 - Available directly from the manufacturer with proof of a <u>Premises Identification</u> <u>Number</u>, or provided by an accredited veterinarian.
- A registration tattoo and registration papers from the appropriate breed association.

2024 will serve as an educational year for exhibitors and exhibition leadership to become accustomed to the new rules. See <u>Enforcement Discretion document</u>.

Find details at agriculture.mo.gov or contact the MDA Animal Health team at (573) 751-3377 or animal.health@mda.mo.gov.





