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INDUSTRIAL HEMP PROGRAM
Plant Industries Division

Missouri Department of Agriculture
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Hemp Program Staff
Alan Freeman

Program Administrator

hempprogram@mda.mo.gov

Erin Casey-Campbell
Program Coordinator

Email is best contact method
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Agriculture.mo.gov

Industrial Hemp Program



Mar 2020 – Subject to Change

More information available on these tabs
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Hemp Law
• 2014 Farm Bill 

– Pilot programs; minimal regulatory uniformity across states 
• 2018 Farm Bill

– Basic guidance of commercialized programs; wait for IFR
– Federal IFR (Interim Final Rule) – Issued 10/31/2019

• Implementation details stemming from 2018 Farm Bill guidance
• Also gave states the option to operate under own rules until 10/31/2020

• Missouri
– Operating under MO rules for 2020 growing season

• Must adopt IFR requirements after 10/31/2020
– Anticipate changes 
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APPLICATIONS
More information on https://agriculture.mo.gov/plants/industrial-hemp/applications.php

https://agriculture.mo.gov/plants/industrial-hemp/applications.php
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Applications
• Producer Registration

– Produce hemp 
• Agricultural Hemp Propagule & Seed Permit

– Sales of viable hemp
• Viable = capable of living, growing 

– Propagules (clones, cuttings, seedlings, transplants, etc.) and seed
• “Sales” includes selling, distributing, or offering for sale

• Must have one of the above to obtain or possess viable hemp in MO
• Separate applications & fees if both needed
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Application Requirements
• If filing as an individual:

– Applicant must be a Missouri resident 
– Applicant completes background check

• Producer registration only
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Application Requirements
• If filing as a business/entity:

– Business/entity must be domiciled in MO 
• Include Secretary of State certificate with application, or ensure business 

name is searchable on SOS website  

– Someone must still be listed as the applicant
• This will be the contact person for the application

– Applicant and all key participants must complete 
background check

• Producer registration only
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Background Check

*Fingerprinting must be completed within 30 days of application submission

1) Set up online account with MACHS using MDA’s code: 8249
Will give you a TCN (account number)

2) Fingerprinting services – set up after account creation ($41.75 at site)

http://www.machs.mo.gov
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Land Information

Decimal format is 
required for all GPS
41.40338
41°24'12.2"N
41 24.2028

Legal land description can be 
found on deeds, legal 
documents, & sometimes 
online with county assessor
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This is an example for mapping purposes only. There is no hemp at this site. 

Maps
MOST COMMON DEFICIENCY
• Name
• Whole parcel boundaries

• Must reconcile with county records
• GPS pinpoint/ coordinates for:

• Parcel
• Facilities that will contain viable hemp 

(include GH, hoop house)
Refer to last section on Applications 
tab for how-to instructions & more 
mapping details
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Applications
• $750 per application 

– A registration & permit for the same site is two separate 
applications

• Valid for three (3) years, with:
– Continued compliance
– $750 per application annual fee

• Year 1 paid as application fee; years 2, 3: due at end of anniversary month

• No submission deadline
• No limit on number issued
• No minimum or maximum acreage



Mar 2020 – Subject to Change

A
B

Leased from 
neighbor 

D

• Multiple parcels may be on the same 
application, if:
– Owned by the same person
– Contiguous (adjacent, sharing border)

• No acreage limit per application

• Parcel A on main application form
– B, C, D on Supplemental Parcel Attachments*

• Parcel E is on a separate application because 
it is owned by a different person

E

C
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AFTER APPROVAL
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Once Approved
• Law enforcement notified
• List available online – main page
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Seed/Propagules
• Can be purchased from:

– MO permit holder
– Supplier with hemp license in another state/territory
– Supplier approved by USDA for international import

• No approved varieties list
• No certified seed required
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Planting
• Planting may begin as soon as you receive 

your approval certificate 

• Planting must be reported 
– More information in later slides
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Pesticide Use on Hemp
• EPA has approved 26 pesticides as of 3/13/2020

– 25 bio-pesticides
• 1 herbicide*
• Common active ingredients: Bacillus, potassium derivatives, Azadirachtin/neem 

– 1 conventional pesticide
• Active ingredient: Potassium Salts of Fatty Acids

• All labels must first be approved by EPA and then registered for use 
in Missouri
– Only 24 out of 26 have been registered in MO
– *The one herbicide has not been registered as of 3/13/2020
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Compliance Sampling

https://www.pexels.com/photo/bird-s-eye-view-of-river-in-middle-of-green-fields-1483880/

• Lot = group of plants of the same 
variety in a contiguous area 

• Lots must be clearly defined and 
physically separated throughout 
production, sampling, harvest, and 
confirmation of test results

Each lot must be sampled prior to harvest

More information available in the Lot Identification 
Guidance on the Registered Producers webpage

https://www.pexels.com/photo/bird-s-eye-view-of-river-in-middle-of-green-fields-1483880/
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Compliance Sampling
• Sampled within fifteen (15) days prior to harvest

– Can harvest immediately after sampling, up through the 15th day
– Must resample if not harvested in allotted window

• By a Certified Industrial Hemp Sampler 
– MDA Sampling Protocol is available on the Registered Producers and 

the Certified Samplers page
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Certified Industrial Hemp Sampler
• Third-party individuals who contract with producers

• Cannot collect samples for registrations:
– In their name
– In their employer’s name
– In which they are a key participant
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Certified Industrial Hemp Sampler
• Requirements for certification:

– Training course
– Pass exam (80%+)
– Application (+ $50 application fee)
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Certified Industrial Hemp Sampler
• Available on Certified Sampler webpage:

– List of available Certified Samplers
– Requirements to become certified
– Certified Sampler forms & records

https://agriculture.mo.gov/plants/industrial-hemp/certified-sampler.php

https://agriculture.mo.gov/plants/industrial-hemp/certified-sampler.php
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Testing
• Testing laboratories

– DEA-registered; OR
– ISO/IEC 17025 accredited

• Testing methods
– Total THC = Delta-9 THC + (THCa *.877); or

– Delta-9 THC measured post-decarboxylation
• Includes the conversion of THCa into Delta-9

The USDA announcement to 
“drop” the DEA lab requirement 

does not change Missouri 
hemp rules for 2020. 
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Acceptable Hemp THC Level

0.6%

0.5%

0.4%

0.3%

0.2%

0.1%

0.0%

Lot A1                 Lot A2                  Lot A3     

Acceptable 
Hemp THC Level

Measurement 
of Uncertainty

THC Result

Results that contain (or are below) the 0.3% THC threshold are compliant lots.

(Lab-calculated)
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Test Results
• Compliant (≤0.3%)

– Submit test results to MDA within thirty (30) days
– Once non-viable, it may enter commerce

• Harvested; not capable of living or growing
– MDA Hemp Program no longer regulates 

• Products themselves may be regulated by other programs 
and agencies, depending on the use

– Ex: human use/consumption by FDA, Dept. Health & Senior Services; or
– Ex: animal use/consumption by MDA Bureau of Feed & Seed, AAFCO

-
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Test Results
• Not compliant (>0.3% )

– Submit test results to MDA within three (3) days
– Producer may request for the lab to retest the 

sample (resampling is not permitted)
– Initiates destruction process
– National anticipated average: 20%+

-
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Destruction
1. MDA issues Order of Destruction
2. Producer completes destruction by approved method 

– On-site farm practices (disking, plowing, etc.) that render the crop 
unusable & non-retrievable

3. Producer completes applicable sections of Destruction Report
4. Remainder of Destruction Report completed by law 

enforcement, including certification that the crop is destroyed
– May be MSHP or local, depending on location
– Producer invoiced for certification fee

5. Copy of Destruction Report sent to MDA
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REPORTING
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Reporting 

to Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA)

• Annual Report 
– Due November 1
– Registered producers: number of acres planted, harvested, destroyed

Review Lot Identification 
Guidance on Registered 
Producers webpage for 
additional clarification

• Lot Identification Form 
– Due thirty (30) days after production starts
– Includes map & GPS of planted crops
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Reporting 

to USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA)
• USDA-FSA – Acreage Report 

– FSA recommends reporting as soon as possible after planting
• Due date varies based on production  
• Aug. 15 for most ‘traditional’ outdoor/field producers (harvest after Aug 15)

– Includes number of acres planted, by lot & intended use
– Please note, this is a separate reporting requirement and information 

cannot be shared between MDA and FSA

https://www.farmers.gov/service-center-locator

https://www.farmers.gov/service-center-locator
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Recordkeeping
• Hemp Plant Monitoring System

– Not submitted, but reviewed at inspection
– Retained for 3 years after activity

– Registered Producers: Lot Report
– Permits: Distribution and Sales Report
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MDA Inspections

• Inspections/Audits 
– Minimum of 1 inspection per 3-year term

• Randomly selected
• Appointment scheduled

– Review of records – “desk audit” 
– Field/crop inspection
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Hemp Law
• 2014 Farm Bill 

– Pilot programs; minimal regulatory uniformity across states 
• 2018 Farm Bill

– Basic guidance of commercialized programs; wait for IFR
– Federal IFR (Interim Final Rule) – Issued 10/31/2019

• Implementation details stemming from 2018 Farm Bill guidance
• Also gave states the option to operate under own rules until 10/31/2020

• Missouri
– Operating under MO rules for 2020 growing season

• Must adopt IFR requirements after 10/31/2020
– Anticipate changes 

REMINDER
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QUESTIONS?
hempprogram@mda.mo.gov

See Application Guide on Applications tab for more help on completing the application 
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