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Requirements for Shell Eggs Sold in Missouri 
(Disclaimer: These are excerpts from the Missouri Egg Laws & Regulations 
publication). 

 
Eggs are defined as eggs in the shell from domesticated chickens, turkeys, 

ducks, geese or guineas. 
 

A license is not required for those who sell only eggs produced by their own 
flocks, provided such eggs are not sold at an established place of business away 
from the premises of such producer. 

 
Retailer's License 

A Retailer's license is required of any person who sells eggs to a consumer. A 
holder of a Retailer's license shall not be permitted or authorized to buy eggs from 
persons other than licensed Dealers.  Any retailer desiring to buy eggs form 
persons other than licensed Dealers shall obtain a Dealer’s license in addition to a 
Retailer’s Egg License. 

      
     Limited Retailer’s License 

A Limited Retailer’s license is required of any person who exclusively sells 
their own produced eggs at farmers market(s) or roadside stands.  

 
Dealer's license 

A Dealer's license shall be required of any person who purchases eggs from 
producers thereof or another dealer, for the purpose of selling such eggs to another 
dealer, processor, or retailer. Any Dealer desiring to sell eggs to consumers shall 
obtain a Retailer's license in addition to a Dealer's license. 

 
 



License Fees (Annual – July 1 – June 30) 
Retailer License $ 5.00 
Limited Retailer’s License   $ 5.00 
Dealer's License fees shall be determined on the basis of cases (30 
dozen per case) of eggs sold in the shell in any one week, as follows: 

1-25 cases per week $ 5.00 
26-50 cases per week $12.50 
51-100 cases per week $25.00 
More than 100 cases per week $50.00 

License Year 
The license year shall be 12 months or any fraction thereof, for each separate 

place of business from the director, beginning July 1 and ending June 30. No license 
shall be transferable, but it may be moved from one place to 
another by the consent of the director. 
 
Identification of Graded Eggs in Containers 

1. Eggs packaged in containers by licensed dealers for 
supply or sale to retailers must be identified on each container with either the name 
and address (city and state), or approved identification number of the dealer under 
whose authority the eggs were packaged and the day, month, and year when said 
eggs were graded. Example July 1, 1996, or 182-6; July 2, 1996, or 183-6. 
Only eggs to be sold to any consumer by any person shall be of the quality 
standard designated Grade and size established by USDA (Example Grade A 
Large) 
 
Eggs 

No person shall sell or represent eggs from any other species of fowl as 
chicken eggs or sell mixed eggs from more than one species of fowl, eggs from 
ducks, turkeys, geese, or any other species of fowl other than chickens without 
marking the container and sub containers of such eggs or otherwise indicating 
fully by sign or other inscriptions the species of fowl from which such eggs were 
produced. 
 
Temperature 

Temperature for shell eggs shall be held at a maximum temperature of no 
greater than 45° F. 
 

To obtain a complete copy of Missouri Egg Laws & Regulations, call the 
Missouri Department of Agriculture, Division of Weights, Measures & Consumer 
Protection at 573-751-5639 or visit their website at agriculture.mo.gov 
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