Missouri Agribusiness Academy

Missouri Agribusiness Academy logo

About Missouri Agribusiness Academy

Agriculture has a tremendous impact on our nation’s economy, and Missouri is at the heart of this industry. It is important that young people carry on the tradition and heritage of those who have made this state the agricultural leader it is today and develop the skills necessary to continue that legacy in the future.

Since 1988, the Missouri Agribusiness Academy (MAbA) has awarded 870 academy memberships through a competitive application and interview process. To be eligible for the Missouri Agribusiness Academy, students must come from a farming family or be an active member of the National FFA Organization or 4-H. The 2017 MAbA class will tour agribusinesses, explore educational opportunities and meet with agricultural leaders in the Kansas City area from June 5 – 9, 2017. The students will end their week with a graduation ceremony at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City.

Apply Now!

Are you a high school sophomore interested in becoming a future leader in agriculture and your community? Then the Missouri Agribusiness Academy is for you! MAbA is a youth leadership program designed for thirty high school sophomores to explore career opportunities in agribusiness, government and production agriculture. Written applications accompanied by three letters of recommendation must be postmarked by February 1, 2017. A link to the written application is below.

About the Application Process

Applicants will be sorted into six geographical regions and five students from each region will attend the Missouri Agribusiness Academy. The applicant’s region is determined by the county of their high school’s physical location. Student’s will be evaluated and compared only to the other applicants in their region. A link to the MAbA district map is below.

Written applications will be scored by a panel of independent judges. The top ten applicants per region will move into the semi-finals and will be invited to an interview. Students will be emailed about the results of their written application by March 1, 2017. Semi-finalists must attend their regional interview on the date and location listed below. The five applicants with the highest combined written and interview scores from each region will be selected to participate in the Missouri Agribusiness Academy.

Central Region

Wednesday, March 22
Sedalia, Mo.
10:00 a.m.

Northeast Region

Tuesday, March 21
Paris, Mo.
10:00 a.m.

Northwest Region

Monday, March 20
Savannah, Mo.
10:00 a.m.

South Central Region

Tuesday, March 21
Rolla, Mo.
10:00 am.

Southeast Region

Wednesday, March 22
Cape Girardeau, Mo.
10:00 a.m.

Southwest Region

Monday, March 20
Springfield, Mo.
10:00 a.m.

For questions about the Missouri Agribusiness Academy or application process, contact Emily LeRoy at Emily.LeRoy@mda.mo.gov or 573-522-6715.

Congratulations to the Missouri Agribusiness Academy Class of 2016!

Additional photos of the selected students and the 2016 tour stops in the Springfield region are available on the Department’s Flickr stream, online at flickr.com/moagriculture.

Northwest Distict

Marley Anderson
Dawn, MO

Liberty Cox
Chillicothe, MO

Emily Kasinger
Trenton, MO

Alexandria Lock
Carrollton, MO

Hannah Persell
Trenton, MO

Northeast District

Elise Bailey
Curryville, MO

Allison Binder
Salisbury, MO

Corbin Eckler
New London, MO

Jordan Hasty
Brookfield, MO

Camden Williams
Milan, MO

Central District

Carolyn Faber
Windsor, MO

Elizabeth Fahrmeier
Wellington, MO

Hattie Grisham
Eldon, MO

Halle Oliver
California, MO

Hannah Wheeler
Osceola, MO

South Central District

Adriene Aubuchon
Owensville, MO

Andrew Hall
Wright City, MO

Madalyn Jenkins
Linn, MO

Taylor Scheulen
Linn, MO

Hannah Strain
Rolla, MO

Southwest District

Kara Cloud
Carthage, MO

Dallas Kleiboeker
Stotts City, MO

Donell Kleiboeker
Stotts City, MO

Tegan Roller
Racine, MO

Lora Wright
Verona, MO

Southeast District

Quentin Carlyle
East Prairie, MO

Erin Coleman
Farmington, MO

Johnee Hargis
Fredrickton, MO

Savannah Hinkle
Fredricktown, MO

Tate Kiefer
Sedgewickville, MO