Egg Licensing and Inspection

Egg quality is highly important to most consumers. That’s why the Weights, Measures and Consumer Protection Division licenses egg producers, dealers, and retailers and also inspects eggs sold in Missouri for quality. Anyone who buys or sells eggs must be licensed and renew that license annually.

Fill out my online form.

The Weights, Measures and Consumer Protection Division issues four types of egg licenses:

Retailer’s License

A retailer is any person who sells eggs to a consumer.
Fee - $5.00

Limited Retailer’s License

A limited retailer license is appropriate for individuals selling their own eggs at farmers’ markets.
Fee - $5.00

Dealer’s License

A dealer is any person who buys eggs from producers or other dealers to sell eggs to another dealer, processor, or retailer. Fees are determined by the number of cases of eggs sold in any one week.

(a)  1 - 25 cases . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 5.00
(b) 26 - 50 cases . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $12.50
(c) 51 - 100 cases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25.00
(d) more than 100 cases . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00

Processors License -

A processor is any person engaged in breaking eggs or processing egg liquids, whole egg meats, yolks, whites, or any mixture of yolks and whites with or without adding other ingredients. Fees are based on cases of eggs (or the equivalent in liquid or frozen eggs) processed in any one day.

(a) Less than 50 cases . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 25.00
(b) More than 50 cases, less than 250 cases. . . $ 50.00
(c) More than 250 cases, less than 1000 cases. . $ 75.00
(d) More than 1000 cases . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00

The statutes governing the egg licensing and inspection program can be found in Chapter 196 of the Revised Missouri Statutes, 196.311 through 196.361. Rules and regulations are located in the Code of State Regulations - 2 CSR 90-36.010 and 2 CSR 90-36.020. To obtain a handbook containing the egg laws and regulations contact the Device and Commodity Inspection Program.