December 20, 2014

More than 50 Scholarship Recipients Attend Missouri Governor's Conference on Agriculture

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.) – Scholarships were provided to more than 50 people to attend the 45th Governor’s Conference on Agriculture at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, Mo. The Governor’s Conference on Agriculture Scholarship Program was developed to ensure agriculture producers and their families have the opportunity to become more active in the agriculture industry’s gatherings. Many of these families would not have been able to attend without the generous support of our sponsors.

“The Governor’s Conference on Agriculture Scholarship Program is a wonderful opportunity to bring together many of Missouri’s hard-working farm families to learn more about increasing their yields, growing their profits and learning the do’s and don’ts from others in the industry,” said Director of Agriculture Fordyce. “We are fortunate to have so many generous agribusinesses that are willing and able to support producers.” 

• JB & Alice DeWesplore (scholarship provided by Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives)
• Leonard Martin, James Martin & Leroy Martin (scholarship provided by BioZyme Incorporated)
• Monty and Lainyn Kerley (scholarship provided by BioZyme Incorporated)
• Sam Peters (scholarship provided by Duff Dynamic Marketing/AgriThority)
• Andy and Lisa Stubblefield (scholarship provided by Gibson Insurance Group)
• Joey and Lori Golden (scholarship provided by Gibson Insurance Group)
• Ben Lee (scholarship provided by Hoop Beef Systems, LLC)
• Dale & Melissa Riley (scholarship provided by Intercounty Electric Cooperative)
• Jack Lang, Alex Haun (scholarship provided by MFA, Inc.)
• Justin Sexton (scholarship provided by MFA, Inc.)
• Janet & Roy Akers (scholarship provided by Missouri Cattlemen’s Association)
• Mike & Heather Henderson (scholarship provided by Missouri Cattlemen’s Association)
• Glen & Leanne Cope (scholarship provided by Missouri Cattlemen’s Association)
• Bob North & Linda Richert (scholarship provided by Missouri Pork Association)
• Rick & Jonna Ayers (scholarship provided by North Central Missouri Electric Cooperative)
• David Stubblefield (scholarship provided by Oregon County Soil & Water Commission)
• Ralph & Agnes Veit (scholarship provided by Ozark Electric Cooperative)
• Brent Versiman, Nick Minton (scholarship provided by Prairie Farms)
• Eugene & Kathy Scheer (scholarship provided by Prairie Farms)
• A.J. & Nancy Foster  (scholarship provided by SEMO Electric Cooperative)
• Rich & Bonita Riley (scholarship provided by Starline Brass, Inc.)
• Aaron and Teresa Johnson (scholarship provided by Summit Livestock Facilities)
• Blaine and Kristy Harvey (scholarship provided by Sydenstricker of Macon)
• Tom & Becky Loehner (scholarship provided by Three Rivers Electric Cooperative)
• Dan Haines (scholarship provided by University of Missouri Collegiate Farm Bureau)
• David Mershon and Bobby Palmer (scholarship provided by University of Missouri Farmhouse)
• Bryon &Teresa Wiegand (scholarship provided by University of Missouri Independent Aggies)
• Sam Schaumann (scholarship provided by USDA Farm Service Agency)
• Sharon Oetting  (scholarship provided by USDA Farm Service Agency)
• Lynn and Kathy Bade (scholarship provided by Warren County Soil & Water Commission)
• Rob & Gay Lynn Korff (scholarship provided by Webster Electric Cooperative)
• Grant Jones (scholarship provided by WK Chevrolet)

The conference program included nationally-recognized speakers, in-depth discussions and an agriculture tradeshow, all led by emcee Tom Brand of the National Association of Farm Broadcasters.

Sessions include a “State of the Industry” panel discussion among Missouri’s agricultural leaders, a national farm broadcasters panel, “Cover Crop Opportunities in Missouri,” “GrowSafe- A New Vision of Beef Production & Technology” and “A Bird’s Eye View- Unmanned Aerial Vehicles.” Saturday afternoon’s activities involved a special youth event featuring YouTube sensation, the Peterson Farm Bros., and highlighted some of the outstanding young people making a difference in Missouri agriculture. Attendees also enjoyed a special wine experience and presentation featuring Doug Frost, a Master Sommelier and Master of Wine, on Friday. Special events during the conference included the Taste of AgriMissouri reception and the Friday evening benefit auction supporting programs for youth and young professionals in agriculture. The conference concluded Saturday evening with the awards banquet and a special performance by country music band Sawyer Brown.

New this year, Missouri Agriculture Awards were presented to recognize those that stand out for their commitment to innovation, giving back to their communities, committing to good land stewardship and being a great example for future generations. 

For more information on the Governor’s Conference on Agriculture and the Missouri Department of Agriculture, visit the Department online at


Note: Photos of many of the individual scholarship recipients are available by contacting Sarah Alsager at