Device & Commodity Program
Who We Are and What We Do
The program performs annual inspections of all commercial weighing devices throughout the state to ensure scales are weighing accurately. Inspectors also perform package inspections and price verifications to verify that items ring up accurately at the register and weigh the amount stated on the packaging. This program is also responsible for enforcing the Missouri Egg Law and the Missouri Unfair Milk Sales Practices Act.
Scale Inspections and Testing
Small-Scale Inspectors test scales with a capacity up to 1,000 pounds and are typically the type of scales found at grocery stores, farmers markets, postal/shipping businesses and other retail locations that sell by weight under 1,000 pounds.
Large-Scale Inspectors test scales with a capacity of 1,000 pounds or greater. These types of scales are typically found at grain elevators, rock quarries, livestock markets, manufacturing facilities and other retail locations that sell by weight over 1,000 pounds
Inspection fees associated with the testing of commercial scales can be found here: Scale Inspections Fees, Effective Jan.1, 2021
Package Inspection, Price Verification, Grain Moisture Meter Testing
Small-Scale Inspectors perform inspections of prepackaged goods to ensure weights advertised are accurate, and verify prices on shelves match the price at the counter. Large Scale Inspectors are responsible for testing moisture meters at grain handling facilities throughout the state.
Missouri Egg Licensing and Enforcement
Missouri law currently requires all egg producers, dealers and retailers to obtain an annual license in order to sell eggs in the state.
This annual license runs from July 1 to June 30 and license fees are as follows:
Retailer's License - Required for individuals who sell eggs to any consumer.
Dealer's License - Required for individuals who buys eggs from producers or other dealers to sell eggs to another dealer, processor, or retailer.
Cost Range: $5 - $50 (based on cases sold)
Processor's License - Required for individuals engaged in breaking eggs or processing egg liquids, whole egg meats, yolks, whites, or any mixture of yolks and whites with or without adding other ingredients.
Cost Range: $25 to $100 (based on cases sold)
Missouri Milk Licensing and Enforcement
Missouri law currently requires retail facilities selling milk to comply with the Unfair Milk Sales Practice Act, which prohibits the selling of milk below cost. In addition, it requires processors and distributors to obtain a license before selling milk. This annual license runs from July 1 to June 30 and license fees are as follows:
Processor's License - Required for individuals and businesses engaged in the business or processing or packaging bulk milk or other materials into milk products.
Cost: is based on pounds sold in Missouri
Distributor's License - Required for individuals and businesses, other than a bulk milk handler, engaged in the business of transferring title within the state to milk products for a consideration, where the product is to be sold for resale or further processing.