April 15, 2014

30 Missouri Students Selected for Missouri Agribusiness Academy

The Missouri Department of Agriculture is giving 30 high school students from throughout Missouri the opportunity to explore careers in agriculture through the 2014 Missouri Agribusiness Academy - a competitive membership for sophomores interested in pursuing agriculture-related college degrees and careers.

"Our young people are the future of Missouri agriculture, and it is important that we help them take advantage of opportunities to learn from leaders in agriculture, as well as government, education and business," said Director of Agriculture Richard Fordyce. "Agriculture is a key driver for our state and ensuring that Missouri remains the national leader it is means engaging our youth in agriculture."

This year, the students selected have the opportunity to learn about a variety of careers in agriculture in central and northwestern Missouri. The group will spend the first week of June visiting the University of Missouri in Columbia, Warm Springs Ranch in Boonville, Trans Ova Genetics in Chillicothe, Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, and North Missouri Produce Auction in Jamesport. They will also visit Ameri-Pac, St. Joseph Stockyards, Eagle Communications and Lifeline Foods, all in St. Joseph. The students will end their week with a graduation ceremony at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City.

The Missouri Agribusiness Academy Class of 2014:

Representing the Central District: Shelby Bledsoe of Eldon, Holly Enowski of Russellville, Samuel Fahrmeier of Wellington, Ashtyn Higgins of Tipton and Rylee Streit of Holden

Representing the Northeast District: Natalie Ayers and Zachary Ayers of Green City, Emily Binder and Holly Harlan of Salisbury and Joel Martin of Bucklin

Representing the Northwest District: Morgan Dotson and Lyndi Heldenbrand of Kidder, Logan Korff of Norborne, Emily Milazzo of Galt and Kelli Schieber of Stanberry

Representing the Southcentral District: Jacob Bockting of Morrison, Libby Glaser of Owensville, Jennifer Horn of Leslie, Macey Hurst of St. Thomas and Heidi Murry of Plato

Representing the Southeast District: Taylor Berghaus of Ironton, Sara Gholson of Jackson, Litany Maize and Alison Porter of Farmington and Morgan Taylor of Doniphan

Representing the Southwest District: Tanner Blakemore of Aldrich, Jordan Coday of Seymour, Shelby Harman of Walnut Grove, Caleb Robertson of Lamar and Colton Spencer of Aurora

Since 1988, the Missouri Agribusiness Academy has awarded more than 780 academy memberships through a competitive application and interview process.

To be eligible for the Agribusiness Academy, students must come from a farming family or be an active member of the National FFA Organization or 4-H.

For more information on the Department of Agriculture, please visit agriculture.mo.gov.