April 09, 2013

30 Missouri Students Selected for Summer Ag Careers Academy

The Missouri Department of Agriculture is giving 30 high school students from throughout Missouri the opportunity to explore careers in agriculture through the 2013 Missouri Agribusiness Academy - a competitive membership for sophomores interested in pursuing agriculture-related college degrees and careers.

The Agribusiness Academy is an opportunity for talented young folks in our state to sit down with top leaders in agriculture, government and education to explore the many diverse opportunities ahead of them," said Director of Agriculture Dr. Jon Hagler. "Agriculture impacts every sector of our economy and every community in our great state, and it is important to attract the next generation of agricultural leaders. There is a bright future for young people in agriculture."

This year, the students selected have the opportunity to learn about the many unique opportunities for careers in agriculture. The group will spend the week of June 3 in the greater Springfield area. They will visit Missouri State University and the William H. Darr Agricultural Center, as well as Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds in Mansfield and Osage Catfisheries in Osage Beach. The students will end their week with a graduation ceremony at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City.

The Missouri Agribusiness Academy Class of 2013:

Representing the Central District: Trent Ludwig of Linn, Molly Bertz of Mayview, Melinda Groves of Barnett, Jessica Poisal of Harrisonville and Alexander Engeman of Montrose

Representing the Northeast District: Selestia Angell of Centralia, Austin Stanton of Centralia, Hadley Williams of Milan, Bailey Kemp of Auxvasse and Abigail Hoer of Mexico

Representing the Northwest District: Dane Brammer of Gallatin, Sydney Thummel of Sheridan, Copper Sadowsky of Eagleville, Kelly Paul of Albany and Kaitlin Tait of Maysville

Representing the South Central District: Darby Schmidt of Defiance, Taylor Scheulen of Loose Creek, Paul Shanks of Belle, Michael Kampmann of Warrenton and Kaitlyn Branson of Warrenton

Representing the Southeast District: Teagan Schnurbusch of Millersville, Kali Thurman of East Prairie, Alexa Nordwald or East Prairie, Gregory Mynear of Farmington and Kevin Davis of Farmington

Representing the Southwest District: Tony Morgan of Lamar, Jera Pipkin of Republic, Maura Butler of Seneca, Payton Dahmer of Nevada and Thomas Eggerman of Lockwood

Since 1988, the Missouri Agribusiness Academy has awarded more than 750 academy memberships through a competitive application and interview process.

To be eligible for the Agribusiness Academy, students must come from a farming family or be an active member of the National FFA Organization or 4-H.

For more information on the Department of Agriculture, please visit mda.mo.gov.