April 05, 2016

Thirty Sophomores Selected for the Missouri Agribusiness Academy

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.) –Thirty high school sophomores were recently selected to participate in the Missouri Department of Agriculture’s Missouri Agribusiness Academy (MAbA). Students selected will spend the first week of June in Springfield exploring various facets of agriculture.

“It has never been more important to cultivate a strong passion for agriculture in our young people,” said Director of Agriculture Richard Fordyce. “These young men and women are the up-and-coming agriculturalists who will soon be the leaders we rely on to make decisions and promote agriculture. MAbA provides an exceptional group of young men and women an opportunity to expand their horizons through meaningful experiences and relationships that will stick with them for a long time.”  

Students selected for the 2016 class are:

• Liberty Cox, Chillicothe

• Marley Anderson, Dawn

• Alexandria Lock, Carrollton

• Hannah Persell, Trenton

• Emily Kasinger, Trenton

• Allison Binder, Salisbury

• Jordan Hasty, Brookfield

• Camden Williams, Milan

• Corbin Eckler, New London

• Elise Bailey, Curryville

• Carolyn Faber, Windsor

• Hattie Grisham, Eldon

• Hannah Wheeler, Osceola

• Elizabeth Fahrmeier, Wellington

• Halle Oliver, California

• Adriene Aubuchon, Owensville

• Taylor Scheulen, Linn

• Madalyn Jenkins, Linn

• Andrew Hall, Wright City

• Hannah Strain, Rolla

• Lora Wright, Verona

• Tegan Roller, Racine

• Kara Cloud, Carthage

• Donell Kleiboeker, Stotts City

• Dallas Kleiboeker, Stotts City

• Quentin Carlyle, East Prairie

• Tate Kiefer, Sedgewickville

• Johnee Hargis, Fredricktown

• Savannah Hinkle, Fredricktown

• Erin Coleman, Farmington

On Monday, June 6, the MAbA class will convene at the Missouri Department of Agriculture. After a department overview and tour, the students will travel to Springfield. During the 2016 Missouri Agribusiness Academy, the students will visit Osage Catfisheries, KY3 News Station, Farmers Market of the Ozarks, Missouri State University, Joplin Regional Stockyards, Associated Wholesale Grocers and the Dairy Farmers of America Innovation Center. The students will end their week with a graduation ceremony at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City.

Since 1988, the Missouri Agribusiness Academy has awarded more than 840 academy memberships through a competitive application and interview process for high school sophomores interested in pursuing agriculture-related college degrees and careers.

To be eligible for the Agribusiness Academy, students must come from a farming family or be an active member of the National FFA Organization or 4-H. 

For additional details about the 2016 Missouri Agribusiness Academy, as well as more information on the Department of Agriculture, please visit the Department online at agriculture.mo.gov